Join CIIC on Facebook
CIIC

CIIC News Blog

CIIC WELCOMES THE APPOINTMENT OF BILLY LAWLESS AS SEANADÓIR

June 14, 2016

Dear Billy,

The Coalition of Irish Immigration Centers (CIIC) and its membership across the United States would like to express our delight at your recent appointment to the 25th Seanad by An Taoiseach. As you know, the appointment of a Seanadóir to represent the Irish abroad has been discussed for a number of years and has been much anticipated by the Irish immigrant community and those that serve them. We believe that your appointment highlights the Government’s continued commitment to the Irish abroad and the issues they face, while it also recognizes the critical importance of the work accomplished by Diaspora groups. We are also thrilled that the appointment was given to a long term friend and colleague of CIIC.

We particularly welcome your appointment as a representative for the Diaspora within the Irish government, as someone who is committed to the undocumented Irish, passing comprehensive immigration reform and creating a future flow of migration between Ireland and the United States. We believe your personal experience as an immigrant, the respect that you have gained throughout the wider immigrant community in the United States and your fierce support of Irish immigrants in the US will all benefit you in your new role.

CIIC and its membership thanks you for your tireless support of all immigrants in the US, specifically Irish immigrants and the undocumented Irish. We congratulate you on this significant appointment to the Seanad, and very much look forward to collaborating with you in your new role.

Go n-éirí an t-ádh leat,

Celine Kennelly, CIIC President
Executive Director, IIPC
celine@sfiipc.org

Ronnie Millar, CIIC Vice President
Executive Director, IIIC
rmillar@iiicenter.org

James Cummins, CIIC Treasurer
Member, SIISG
james.cummins@frontier.com

Michael Collins, CIIC Secretary
Executive Director, CIIS
mcollins@irishchicago.org

Aileen Leonard Dibra
CIIC, National Coordinator
aileen.dibra@ciic-usa.org

Stephen Aherne, CIIC Director
Executive Director, IOSD
saherne@live.ie

Leslie Alcock, CIIC Director
Executive Director, IIC
leslie@icphila.org

Siobhan Dennehy, CIIC Director
Executive Director, EIIC
siobhand@eiic.org

Paul Finnegan, CIIC Director
Executive Director, NYIC
paul@newyorkirishcenter.org

Orla Kelleher, CIIC Director
Executive Director, AIC
orla@aislingcenter.org

Marie Prefontaine. CIIC Director
Coordinator, IAUSA
coordinator@usairish.org

Kathleen Rohan, CIIC Director
Deputy Director Operations, IPC
kathleen@ipcboston.org